Tip Tuesday: 4 Ways to Make a New Year’s Resolution you Can Stick To

new year's resolution
Standard

4 Ways to Make a New Year’s Resolution you Can Stick To

For most people, it’s as easy to break a New Year’s resolution as it is to make one. Tomorrow night, millions of people will be silently promising themselves to lose weight, cut down on their drinking, or quit smoking. These are all good things to be promising yourself, but come February, most will shrug off their quest with a simple “there’s always next year”. But if you don’t want that to be you, here are some tips I’ve come up with over the past few years for making a New Year’s Resolution you can stick to.

1. Baby steps – Don’t throw yourself in at the deep end. If you want to make a massive life change, think about breaking it down into smaller, manageable goals. Rather than, I’m going to lose 1 or 2 stone, make it “I’m going to eat healthier” or “I’m going to exercise more regularly”. Set yourself weekly targets, like “I will go for a 10 minute run 3 times this week” and gradually increase them. Have an idea of what you’d like to achieve, but be flexible because life is sure to throw a ton of stuff in you way.

2. Make ’em useful – Over the years, I’ve found that the resolutions I make that last the longest, are those that are actually genuinely helpful in some way. This year I decided that I was going to stop weighing myself, because I didn’t like how one stupid number could affect my mood so much, particularly if I was already feeling down. 365 days later, I literally have no idea what I weigh and I feel so much better for it. If you can think of a resolution that will genuinely improve your life, go for it!

3. Fun factor – Another thing I tend to do is make a couple of fun resolutions. This year I made a bet with myself that I could find a way to get famous in a day, and well I think I had some success with my cosplay blog having 1000 views in 24 hours, and reaching the front page of Google! (Seriously, thanks again for that!) I also made a resolution to write more, something that I have happily obliged by participating in NaNoWriMo, working on this blog, and endeavouring to finish my dissertation novel. Pick a few that will be easy to keep, so that sticking to the others doesn’t seem such a chore.

4. Failure is an option -This is probably the most important thing I’ve realised in the last twelve months. Just because you break a New Year’s resolution, doesn’t mean you should lose your resolve. I have broken 4 out of 6 of the resolutions that I made at the beginning of 2014, some of them on multiple occasions. However, that didn’t stop me from soldiering on. I may not have finished my novel, but that doesn’t mean I’m going to chuck it to one side. I may not have resisted the temptation to do the odd spot of Facebook stalking, but after a year it’s much easier to fight off. The trick is not to give up, even if you’ve slipped up.

I really hope these are helpful, as I know how difficult it can be to stick with a New Year’s resolution, and how disappointing it is when you break them. What resolutions will you be making this year? And what plans have you got to help you follow through?

Leave a Reply

