Dresden Files: Storm Front- Jim Butcher

Standard

ImageI don’t get a lot of time to read my own thing as an English student and usually I would not be choosing fantasy for my reading leisure. I have trouble getting into a fantasy. I’ve just never been able to wrap my mind around it. One book in a series is usually all I can ever really manage; I never even made it to the end of the Potter’s.

The Dresden Files, however, have charmed me. The series follows the life of Harry Blackstone Copperfield Dresden, the only Wizard in the Yellow Pages. Jim Butcher has a great sense of humour and uses that simple language that I love. Dresden’s voice is seductive, but coolly dorky. He stumbles through life, acting on impulse. Whether its hitting his magical minder, or whipping up a batch of love potion, Dresden shows the kind of tenacity that’s missing from a lot of fantasy protagonists. He never gives in.

In Dresden’s debut, “Storm Front,” Harry is on a quest to find the killer of a prostitute and a gangster in love. He’s threatened, attacked, struck by lightning, but this only makes him fight harder.

The books are cheesy, I should warn you about that, but if you’re looking for a world to curl up and geek out in, these are simply a pleasure to read.

2 thoughts on “Dresden Files: Storm Front- Jim Butcher

Leave a Reply

