Silly, Simple Language

Standard

ImageI read this quote first thing this morning and it’s stuck with me all day. I have no idea about the book or about the character, but this silly, simple quote has made me fall in love. It’s awkward, humorous and has an odd gangly kind of manner that is recognisable to everyone. It is warm and endearing and just has something that you can never get in your basic, “I love you.”

Humans have a distinct inability to describe how we feel at any given moment and as an aspiring writer I’ve been told that, if I want to write, I have to learn to get past this. I have to be the person who can describe these feelings, who can put into words the unphrasable emotions using flouncy, floral language. But why should I? Other’s have tried and failed completely to capture love in this way, for example the immortal line, “I was unconditionally and irrevocably in love with him.” (Meyer, S, Twilight.) Two adverbs and an abstract noun later, we are pretty sure that Bella is supposed to have feelings for Edward, but we don’t really feel it. Not like we should.

Good writing makes us feel with the characters. We don’t just know how they feel we empathize. (Note; empathy, not sympathy; we should be able to recollect feeling the same way, think, “Yes! That’s it exactly!”) That’s why I’m so obsessed with this line, “He wanted to sit and listen to her talk about books untill his ears fell off.” On the surface it seems like such a ridiculous thing to say, it makes you laugh and smile, but at the same time it makes you think back to all those moments when you’ve been sat just listening to someone talk, for the love of it. It carries all the connotations of those moments when you realise all the silly little things you would do for a person. That to me is a fantastic way to describe love; not by saying the words, but by talking about all the ridiculous things it can make you do.

2 thoughts on “Silly, Simple Language

  1. Amy

    Emma has quite obviously been on my tumblr 😉 It’s from Clockwork Prince by Cassandra Clare. It’s the second in the Infernal Devices series.

Leave a Reply

